Home National Gujarat CM oath-taking: 17 ministers may be sworn in too

Gujarat CM oath-taking: 17 ministers may be sworn in too

Gujarat cabinet ministers list: The new cabinet will have around 25-28 names, sources have said, adding that around 10-12 will probably of cabinet rank while the others will be MoS rank.

by News Desk
0 comment

The Bharatiya Janata Party claimed a landslide victory in Gujarat – routing the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party, and setting a state record in the process – and will install Bhupendra Patel as chief minister at 2 pm. Also, 17 ministers will be sworn in today with an expansion planned for later, sources have said.

Patel – who replaced Vijay Rupani last September as the party sought to ward off anti-incumbency – will take his oath in a mega show that will see prime minister Narendra Modi and union home minister Amit Shah in attendance.

The 60-year-old ‘silent troubleshooter’ led the BJP to a statement win ahead of elections in other states in 2023 and the 2024 Lok Sabha election.


The BJP claimed 156 of the state’s 182 seats, leaving 16 for a decimated Congress and five for debutants AAP. Patel won Ghatlodia by 1.92 lakh votes.

Who will be in the cabinet?

The Patel 2.0 cabinet is set to be a mix of lawmakers from various caste and districts as the BJP tries to keep the communities that voted for it happy. It will have 25-28 ministers, with 10-12 of cabinet rank, sources have indicated.

New faces Alpesh Thakor, Shankar Chaudhary, Dr Darshita Shah may be inducted, a party functionary told Hindustan Times.

Alpesh Thakor is an OBC leader from Gandhinagar (south) who was the Congress MLA from Radhanpur when he quit to join the BJP in 2019.

Shankar Chaudhary is a former health minister who could make his return to the cabinet this time, as may several ex ministers, including Kanu Desai (finance), Purnesh Modi (roads and transport) and Jitu Vaghani (education).

Not all will be sworn in today; Vaghani, Chaudhary, Thakor, and Ganpath Vasava may be considered during expansion, BJP sources said.

List of possible cabinet-rank ministers

Name Constituency
Jitu Vaghani Bhavnagar (west)
Kanu Desai Pardi
Naresh Patel Gandevi
Purnesh Modi Surat (west)
Jagdish Vishwakarma  Nikol
Alpesh Thakor Gandhinagar (south)
Jayesh Radadiya Jetpur
Shankar Chaudhary Tharad
Rishikesh Patel Visnagar
Raghavji Patel Jamnagar (rural)
Kunvarji Bavalia Mandvi (ST seat)
Ramanbhai Vora Idar (SC seat)
Shambunath Tundiy  Gadhada
Murubhai Bera  Khambhalia

List of possible ministers of state

Name Constituency
Harsh Sanghvi  Majura
Darshita Shah Rajkot (west)
Vinu Moradiya Katargam
Bachubhai Khabad  Devgadh Baria
Trikam Chhanga Anjar
Bhanuben Babariya Rajkot (rural)
Bhagwangi Kargathiya Dhanera
Parshottam Solanki Bhavnagar (rural)
Bhaga Barad  Talala
Jagdish Makwana  Wadhwan
Dr Pradyuman Vaja  Kodinar

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Pro Indian provides Latest News, India News. Read Live Breaking News from India. Stay Up-to-date with Top news in India, current headlines, photos and live coverage on entertainment, business, politics, sports, technology and more.

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Copy Rights © 2022. All Right Reserved.